Through Vangi-tinted glasses

Perspectives from an African

I miss you sometimes February 5, 2014

Filed under: Poems by Vangi — Vangi Gantsho @ 06:20
Tags:

(For Lindelwa and her Siya, who were separated too soon)

 

I miss you sometimes

Not all the time

Like now

And yesterday

And on Sunday when the light bulb fused

and I had to change it myself

 

I miss you sometimes

 Your sons keep asking me about daddy

 And heaven is so abstract

Even I struggle to understand what God means

when

He says you are with us in spirit

 

I want you here

With me

 

I really do miss you sometimes

Like now

And yesterday

And last month when the car wouldn’t start

You weren’t particularly good at getting it to start, really

 But you tried and I enjoyed watching you try

 

I just miss you sometimes

Most times

When my tears leave stains on my face

And my sorrow feels like it’s swallowing me whole

And I can’t get out of bed, or even pray for this too to pass

 

I really do miss you sometimes

And it’s not even just the sad

Sometimes I look at your boys and they remind me so much of you

Like how protective you were

Or how I just know Lutho’s gonna grow up

to be the silent powerful type

Or how they make me laugh and enjoy and heal

 

But I still miss you sometimes

(Siyabulela Mrwata:  19/06/1976 – 05/02/2010)

 

Leave a Reply

