Through Vangi-tinted glasses

Perspectives from an African

I will learn to pray for you March 22, 2012

Filed under: Poems by Vangi — Vangi Gantsho @ 23:41

I will pray for you
In my anger
I will pray for you
That one day you will keep the promises you made
that day four years ago
When I gave you a cross
and in return you told me things would be different
Then turned around and hurt me
Lied to me
Stole from me
You came into my house and stole my curtains
Exposed my poverty for the world to see
You drank expensive wine
and spilt it on my tattered couch
laughed at me when I told you
I didn’t have ice
because I didn’t have water
or a fridge
And when I gave you my last slice of bread
As if to make fun,
You demanded I serve it with jam on a crystal plate

But I will learn to pray for you
I will tell my heart that next year
things will be different
I will give you my cross again
I will walk barefoot to the tent in the burnt down veld
I will ignore the dilapidated school
or bustling bottle store
I will quell my anger when my feet hurt
from the heat and gravel stones
And I will teach my heart to pray for you

Because that’s what my mother taught me
And that’s what her mother taught her

I just hope that THIS TIME, God is listening.

By Vangile Gantsho ©

 

8 Responses to “I will learn to pray for you”

  1. Monalisa Says:

    Is it that they know that the undying faith of the poor inspite of what and how they live will guarantee another cross? Do they ensure poverty remains among the masses to secure the crosses of the masses? Do they ensure that a child’s future is ripped from right under him by providing worthless and pathetic education so that he becomes the uneducated cross of tomorrow? God hear our prayers.

    • Yho Lisa! I don’t have answers to your questions. And the ever-optimistic believer in human goodness that is me refuses to believe that anyone could be so calculating. (Even though I know they can…and have been. For many years.)

      But OUR people would not sell US and our children to future’s ruins like this. Surely not.

      That being said, we have an obligation to take responsibility for our freedom. We have to decide that we deserve better, and then we can force our leadership to BE better!

  2. palesa-entle pulse makua Says:

    i love your work,your way of writing inspires the aspiring confused poet hiden in me**

  3. Thuto Moloi Says:

    Epic tale of endurance. lovely stuff.

  4. Zanele Says:

    I wish I can do that pray for you and still. Go and give you my cross unfortunately not. You don’t get a prayer nor a cross. I’m ready with my carving knife to slice whatever sliceable should you dare come nearer my children. The little. Prayer I have is for my children to be safe from your dirty hands, The Prayer I have is for them to be able to fend for themselves to be able to stand up for the good and defend the weak.

  5. Tlamelo M Mothudi Says:

    Thank you for this, I sent it to my mother and aunt because they have sacrifised so much for our families. My mother is a single parent and she is as strong as the oldest, biggest, widest tree that has roots that connect to every other tree in the world. I often come across and hear stories of parents that have had their hearts broken by children or grandchildren. These children or grandchildren take advantage, steal from, mistreat their parents and it breaks my heart. I think to myself, they would give you the world and yet when they need you the most (when they are tired, elderly, in need of patience and care) you turn away from them.
    Viva Ms Vangil.


Leave a Reply

